Education / Teaching thread (1 Viewer)

bonnjer

Let the Wins Count begin!
Gold VIP Contributor
Reaction score
I know we have several teachers or spouses of teachers here and I've been meaning to start a thread on education for a while now, so when I saw this article, I figured it was a good time to start discussing things.

I've been teaching for 23 years now and I've seen things continue to head in one direction - testing. EVERYTHING is tied to testing. Diagnostic, benchmark, interim, end of course....tests, tests, tests. Of course, all of that testing isn't free. We're spending a fortune on testing fees, equipment to test with (because all testing has pretty much moved online), etc. School performance scores are based heavily on test scores. It's too much, especially in Covid times when you've got so many kids in and out of classes for a week or two at a time. But how do we stop it? I don't think there's a way. The lobbyists and politicians are the ones running this show and making all sorts of money off the education system.

Meanwhile, you've got teachers who are having to cover classes because nobody wants to sub these days or there just aren't enough subs to adequately cover everyone. Teachers are burning out in massive waves and college students aren't going into education in large enough numbers. Those who do may stick around for a little while, but they quickly discover they can't handle all of the BS.

There are just so many things wrong with our education system and it's the students who are suffering the consequences, whether they realize it or not. Sure, you're going to have those students who do well, no matter what. You're going to have those students who don't give two flips, no matter what. It's the in-between students who make up the largest portion and they're the ones getting the raw end of things.